the philippines

The Philippines is an independent island nation and one of the largest archipelagos in the world. It is ideally located lying off the southeastern coast of the Asian mainland at the western rim of the Pacific Ocean. It is composed of 7,107 islands and islets, of which only about 3,144 are named. With a total land area of over 300,000 square kilometers, the country is divided into three main island groups - Luzon, in the north, with an are of 141,395 square kilometers; Visiayas, in the middle, with an area of 56,606 square kilometers; and Mindanao, in the south, with an area of 101,999 square kilometers.   

The Philippines is a republican state, with a unitary type of government, founded on democratic principles. Its government has three equal branches - the executive, legislative and judiciary. These branches are separate and independent from each other. Each is supreme within its own sphere; but each of these branches can exercise only the powers assigned to it by the Philippine Constitution, based on the principle of separation of powers.   

The Executive Branch, which administers the functions of the governmnet, consists of the President, the Vice President, and the members of the Cabinet. It Legislative Branch, which has the primary responsibility for enacting laws, consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Judiciary Branch, which ensures the administration of justice, consists of a system of courts, headed by the Supreme Court.   

Copyright © 1997 PHNet
Unit 112 Chateau Verde Condo, E. Rodriguez Ave., Bagong-ilog, Pasig City,
Tel: (632) 671-8046/48 Fax: (632) 671-8047

comments and suggestions? mail the webmaster!
All logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners.